Can you hold priority after casting a sorcery in MTG?
Absolutely! In MTG, after you cast a sorcery (or any spell for that matter), you technically maintain priority until you choose to pass it. This means you can cast another spell or activate an ability before your opponents get a chance to respond. However, remember sorceries can only be cast during your own main phase when the stack is empty, so you can't cast another sorcery right after unless you've got some fancy tricks up your sleeve!
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Yeah, you can, but why would you want to? Most of the time, there's no practical reason to hold priority after casting a sorcery since you can't cast another sorcery right after. It's more a quirk of the rules than a useful tactic.
Nope, once you cast that sorcery, it's off to the races. Everyone gets to respond before you can do anything else. Sorceries are all about timing; you gotta wait your turn again if you want to do more stuff.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer