Can you put a Commander into your hand in MTG?
Short answer: Yes, but why would you? You can always just play it from the Command Zone again, albeit for a higher mana cost each time. That being said, having it in hand can protect it from being countered when cast, giving you a bit of strategic advantage in some niche scenarios.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Yes, you definitely can put your Commander into your hand in Magic The Gathering. This can happen through various spells or abilities that allow you to return a creature to its owner's hand. However, when it comes to your Commander, you have a choice due to the 'Commander rule.' Whenever an effect would put your Commander into your hand (or library or exile), you can choose to put it back into the Command zone instead. This gives you flexibility depending on your strategy or the current game state.
Absolutely can, but remember it resets the 'tax' if it goes back to the Command Zone after. Sometimes it's the right move, especially with certain commanders that have effects when they're cast from your hand!!
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer