Can you sacrifice a creature before it dies in Magic The Gathering?
Yep, you totally can! In Magic The Gathering, sacrificing a creature is actually a common strategy. You can do this any time you have priority and the action fits the rules of the ability you're using to sacrifice. So if you've got a creature that's about to bite the dust, you can sacrifice it for an effect or benefit before it would be destroyed. It's like saying, 'You can't fire me, I quit!' but with fantasy creatures.
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Short answer: Yes. Sacrificing is a legit move to get ahead or mess with your opponent's plans. Timing is everything.
Absolutely! Sacrificing a creature on your own terms can be the difference between winning or losing. It's all about strategy. For example, I once had a card that would gain me life whenever I sacrificed a creature. So, right before my opponent's spell would've destroyed my creature, I sacrificed it to squeeze out some extra life points. The look on their face was priceless.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer