Can you use Terminate on a commander in MTG?
Absolutely, you can use Terminate on a commander in MTG. Terminate can target any creature that's not protected by shroud, hexproof, or any other form of protection against spells. Since commanders are creatures too (unless they're in the command zone), they can be targeted and destroyed by Terminate. Just remember, the commander can be sent to the command zone instead of the graveyard due to the rules of commander, so your opponent's commander can come back to haunt you!
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
Terminating a commander? Totally legit move. Just make sure your opponent doesn't have any sneaky counterspells up their sleeve. They'll likely send the commander back to the command zone, but hey, at least you made them pay that extra mana to cast it again.
Nope, bad idea. Your opponent just puts their commander back into the command zone and it comes back even stronger. Waste of a Terminate if you ask me.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer