When can you sacrifice a creature in Magic The Gathering?
Hot take: Sacrificing creatures is best done when you're about to lose them anyway. Turn that inevitable defeat into a strategic advantage!
Play Games.Earn points.Get gift cards!

Playback Rewards
(13.7k)
500k players and counting...
More Answers
In Magic The Gathering, you can sacrifice a creature pretty much anytime you have a spell, ability, or effect that specifically says you can do so! This could be during your turn or even on your opponent's turn, depending on the timing rules of that spell or ability. Just make sure you're following the card's instructions and keeping an eye on the game's phases and any restrictions.
From personal experience, timing is everything. Sacrifice when it'll mess up your opponent's play or when you're about to get a major benefit from an ability. Sacrificed my prized creature once to flip the game on its last leg. Best. Play. Ever.
馃憖 If you like Magic the Gathering...
The brands referenced on this page are not sponsors of the rewards or otherwise affiliated with this company. The logos and other identifying marks attached are trademarks of and owned by each represented company and/or its affiliates. Please visit each company's website for additional terms and conditions.
People also want to know
Add an Answer